Softy Doll

October 16, 2007 at 11:35 pm (Sew)

I took a short time out from the faves (knitting, spinning, quilting) to make a softy doll for my niece Gabrielle’s first birthday. I remembered it was her birthday on the Sunday before, while having breakfast at our favorite Mexican food joint. The options were to try to find something at Wal-Mart that wouldn’t poison her, or make something myself. She had already graciously accepted a knitted hat as a newborn, so I thought I’d make her a scrap doll. What’s wrong with me? Why do I think I can just whip that out in half an hour? It took almost 8 hours from inception, drawing it out on painter’s paper, finding the perfect fabric, stitching, stuffing, etc. I was so sick of that stupid cat once I was done. But I do like how it turned out. Very folk-artsy. Especially because I had to hack embroider the face so ther would be no choking hazards.

gabidoll3.JPG
Sometimes, the bathroom has the best light.

gabidoll1.JPG
This is probably a more appropriate setting.

Oh No, Mr. Bill!
Oh No! Mr. Bill!

Leave a Reply

