New Knits

November 23, 2007 at 9:35 pm (Knit)

Here are some things I’ve been working on lately for a Christmas artist sale at the LYS.

DSC01286.JPG This is a prototype of a series I’m working on. It’s supposed to be a cat skull and crossbones. The intarsia pattern didn’t come out exactly like I planned, so I’m back at the light board fixing it.

DSC01281.JPGDSC01280.JPG For the urban chic kiddo.

DSC01276.JPGHere I was experimenting with what I call a twist stitch because I don’t know if it has a real name. Basically, you knit 5 to 6 rows, then on the 6th (or 7th) you twist the left needle clockwise 360° at intervals. On this hat I twisted every 5th stitch.

DSC01273.JPG A really cut picot edge, which I LOVE, except that it takes so long to cast on.

DSC01277.JPGAnd some generic stripey hats for boys (or girls.)

I have lots of handspun yarn to show you, but they are still on the bobbins.

It’s black Friday, and that’s about all they are covering on the news. I hate shopping and would gladly pay extra, if I could do it when there are not tons of people around. If I was famous or rich, I think I’d do like Oprah and make the store stay open after hours so that I could shop alone. Anyway, for those of you who do go out and shop Black Friday, are the sales really that good? Because I’m thinking that all the hype is just a ploy, and the prices aren’t that great, they are just trying to convince us they are.

As for me, I’m sitting here with a cuppa hot chocolate, with the heat on, but not too much. Ruby, the dog, is deep asleep at me feet, dreaming, and slightly kicking my chair every so often. I’m about to get up and go unpack a couple more boxes. Some day I’ll be finished. I’m making chicken and dumplings for dinner and then I’m going to knit some more.

So, how ’bout you, have you found your car yet, in that endless sea of steel and cellphones that is the mall parking lot?

ETA: This is not how the weather is today. Today, it is cloudy, blustering, and quite chilly for central Texas.

Leave a Reply

